More Disney World Planning and a Brave Giveaway

I realize I’ve gone a little Disney crazy at the moment, but I can explain.

Life and work have been hectic – beyond hectic, even – and the kids and I are enjoying every last minute of the anticipation of this trip. We go this month! Our past few months have included a lot of stress and it’s been great to focus on a vacation where the whole goal is to spend time together and have fun. I won’t have to work, the kids won’t have school or sports practice, I will have a very valid excuse to not return calls and emails to clients and we will have six days to devote to nothing but entertainment.

So what have I been doing lately to prepare for this trip in the brief moments between parenting and cleaning and working?

I ordered our new SafetyTats. These are ingenious, and we used them during our last trip to Walt Disney World as well as when we went to the Minnesota State Fair. Miles and Isla know my phone number, but Grant and Jonah do not. And if Miles or Isla were lost and panicked in a sea of strangers at a theme park, would they really be able to bring the phone number up from memory? These temporary tattoos are designed with up to two phone numbers printed directly on them. So each kid will sport one in a strategic place in the (pleasenodonotletthishappen) chance they get separated from me while we’re at Disney.

I also ordered some breakfast foods and snacks for our resort stay. We’re staying at Art of Animation, in a family suite, which includes a mini fridge and microwave. Since we are participating in the dining plan, we won’t have to feed ourselves too much, but quick breakfasts in the room before we take the bus to the parks will be faster and less expensive than grabbing something at a quick service counter and paying out of pocket. I’d read on a message board that some people had luck with ordering from Wal-Mart, but while the prices were good I didn’t find the delivery selections that extensive. So I went back to the service we used two years ago – Garden Grocer. Placed my order, and they will deliver it right to my resort’s front desk. Can’t beat that!

I’ve also started making a packing list, but I got overwhelmed about thirty items in and gave up for a while.

Please note, I don’t work for or receive any compensation from these services, I just get a lot of traffic to my blog about Disney planning and wanted to share some specifics about what I’ve found helpful.

Now, moving on to a part where I WAS compensated.

Win a Copy of the Disney•Pixar Movie Brave!


Another way we’ve been gearing up for our trip is by watching Disney movies. In particular – Cars, Finding Nemo, Wall-E and The Princess and the Frog. One movie we haven’t seen yet is Brave, so I was excited to get an offer in my inbox to give away a copy on my blog. I also received a copy to keep and the kids and I are having movie night tomorrow to watch it! Brave comes out on November 13 on a Blu-ray combo pack, digital and on-demand. I will be sharing a review and my kids’ thoughts about the movie on Saturday.

From the press release: “An original and thrilling journey set in the ancient and magical Highlands or Scotland, “Brave” follows the heroic journey of the headstrong, young adventurer Merida. Determined to carve her own path in life, Merida confronts tradition and defies an age-old custom that inadvertently unleashes chaos, and forces her to discover the true meaning of bravery.”

If you’d like to win a copy of Brave, leave a comment on this post telling me your favorite Disney movie. One commenter will be selected at random to receive a BRAVE Ultimate Collector’s Edition 5-Disc Set! Leave your comment by 10pm on November 9 to be entered, thanks! I will need the winner’s address by November 10, so if the first winner cannot be reached for confirmation in time, a new winner will be chosen.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this film from Walt Disney Studios to review, but all opinions are my own. Artwork used with permission.

Comments

  1. Little Mermaid!!

  2. lifesadance12 says:

    So jealous of your trip! My favorite Disney movie is The Little Mermaid. So much so that I’ve dressed up as Ariel for Halloween. Twice.

  3. Cars!!!

  4. Danielle T says:

    i love the toy story movies

  5. It’s hard to pick one favorite Disney movie, but if I have to pick only one it’s Princess and the Frog.
    I hope you have a great trip!

  6. My favorite is Mary Poppins…a classic! 🙂

  7. While I love watching all the new movies with my kiddos, I tend to like the classics as my favorites. 🙂 Cinderella is the all time best. Have fun at Disney! My kids would love to go back.

  8. Rachael H. says:

    Favorite disney movie is definitely Tangled! So sweet & funny!

  9. Winnie the Pooh. I’ve seen it a million times with my girls, and I always notice something new.

  10. Laura Hakala says:

    The Lion King.

  11. One favorite?? Ugh! Tangled. It was the first movie my daughter ever went to in a theater so it holds really special memories for us!

  12. I have so many favorites but I guess I’d have to go with The Little Mermaid as all time favorite! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  13. I love so many, but Lion king is one of the best. Or maybe Monsters Inc.

  14. I’m so excited for your trip! You can pile up nice Disney music too. Their music has a way of making hearts light and ‘dancey.’ =>

    I like The Lion King. The story is heartwarming and cuts across all ages. The music is really good too.

  15. Stephen Nettles says:

    Without a doubt The Lion King is my favorite, but Wreck-It Ralph and Brave were among some of the best of the year.

  16. Tangled.
    Though I went through a Little Mermaid phase when it first came out where I memorized every song. I can still sing each one by heart. 🙂

  17. Hercules

  18. Oh wow, you are taking my dream trip. Please enjoy for all of us. My favorite Disney movie The Princess and The Frog.

  19. Toy Story is my favorite disney movie.

  20. The Little Mermaid, I think, although Tangled is a close second. I also really like Beauty and the Beast.

  21. livivua c says:

    i love cinderella (yes.4eva.r@gmail.com)

  22. Stephanie G says:

    Tangled! I would love to win this for my baby girl 🙂 Thanks!

  23. Jennifer Young says:

    Beauty and the Beast is my all time favorite!!

  24. Lion King is my favorite. We went to see the musical and that was awesome too!

  25. tangled is our current fav

  26. Tangled or brave, wreck it Ralph is great too

  27. Mary Poppins is my favorite.

Trackbacks

  1. […] I wrote about earlier, I received a copy of Disney•Pixar’s Brave to review and also a copy to give away to one lucky […]

Leave a Reply

