Lime Mini Muffins with Glaze Recipe

One thing that drives me mad is wastefulness. I don’t like to throw anything away, favoring to reuse or recycle.

An area I struggle with is food waste. What am I supposed to do with the crusts of the kids’ sandwiches (besides eat them myself, which I occasionally do, just so I don’t have to throw them away)? The specific ingredient in the fridge that I bought for a certain recipe but either didn’t use at all or didn’t use up? Part of this is lack of proper planning on my part. I do meal plan each week, but I need to remember to plan more than one recipe for the salsa verde from our chicken recipe, so I am not discovering, weeks later, half a jar sitting forgotten in the back of the lower shelf.

This week I had two things I needed to use – limes from a recipe I never made, and Greek yogurt that was going to expire in a few days. Google search to the rescue – I found a recipe for lime muffins using both of those ingredients. The recipe called for regular yogurt, however, which is much less thick, and I also wanted to use up some of the whole wheat flour in my pantry, so while I link to the original recipe I followed here, I am posting my changes below.

The kids loved these, though Miles said the glaze was a little overpowering for the mini muffins. Next time I may use 1/2 tbsp of lime juice and 1/2 tbsp water.


Lime Mini Muffins with Citrus Glaze

3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp lime zest

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp lime juice
1 cup 0% fat Greek yogurt
6 tbsp vegetable blend oil
6 tbsp milk

For the glaze:
1 tbsp lime juice (or mix 1/2 tbsp lime juice and 1/2 tbsp water)
1/2 cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 400. Lightly grease mini muffin pan.

Mix sugar and lime zest in a medium bowl with hands until sugar begins to turn green. Add flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt and stir until well combined.

In a large bowl, use a whisk to mix the egg, yogurt, oil, lime juice and milk. Add the dry ingredients to the yogurt mixture slowly, stirring with a spoon until just incorporated.

Drop about 1 tbsp of batter into each mini muffin cup. Bake for 9 minutes. Once cooled, drizzle the glaze over the top, or dip each muffin top-down into the glaze and shake off the excess.

To make full-sized muffins, fill muffin tins about 2/3 full and bake for 15 minutes.

 

Comments

  1. Yum, this sounds really good. Right up my alley with the greek yogurt.

  2. Okay, YUM.

Leave a comment