Frozen Frozen Waffles for Breakfast – Strange Food Kids Eat

My kids love frozen waffles. We buy them in packs of 60 at the warehouse store and go through about six million boxes per month. I should probably buy another freezer just so I have room for more waffles.

Nothing strange about waffles, right? Well, some of my kids eat them straight from the freezer. It began when our oldest, Miles, was a toddler. He was teething and crying because he wanted food NOW and so I handed him a waffle that hadn’t been toasted and let him have at it, expecting to find it on the floor, discarded, within thirty seconds. But no, he gobbled it up and asked for more. I can only imagine it felt soothing to his poor, swollen gums. Zachary and I found it a little weird, but, hey, what do we know about the culinary tastes of the under-two set?

This frozen frozen waffle habit has been passed down to all the children, to varying degrees. While the older three eventually learned that warm waffles with some melted buttery spread and a thin layer of honey could be delicious, our youngest, who is almost three, insists on eating his cold all the time.

“What do you want for breakfast, Jonah?” I ask each morning, though I already know the answer.

“Ummmm,” he says, pretending to consider his options. We’ve got our routine down.

“Waffles. Not hot waffles. COLD waffles. With butter and honey.” Yes, Jonah has taken his love for cold waffles one step further than the other kids did and prefers his with butter and honey. I don’t even try to understand this, but I don’t see the harm, so cold waffles he gets. Perhaps when it is six degrees below zero this coming January he’ll change his mind.

This bizarre morning choice makes me think of my youngest brother who put sandwiches of peanut butter and Velveeta in the microwave so that the two flavors would warm and meld together. Doesn’t that sound simply delectable? Yeah, it doesn’t sound very good to me, either. He admitted, years later, that he didn’t even like that sandwich, but, as the baby of the family, he loved the reaction it got from the rest of us who gagged theatrically when he took his first bites.

Another story from Miles’ toddlerhood involved an entire 1/4 of a cup of raw, white onion. I was making tacos, he was begging me for a piece of the onion as I sliced it and wouldn’t take no for an answer, so I thought, “Fine, I’ll give him a taste and we’ll see how much he likes it. ” Did he spit it out? No, I gave him a piece of onion and he asked for more. And more. And more. Until he’d finished that entire quarter cup. You can imagine the kisses I got from him later. Ooh, boy.

As the kids get older and bigger, I imagine what will strike me the most is the amount of food they eat, not necessarily what they eat. I have three younger brothers and a slew of male cousins; I know how they can pack away food, and I’m scared.

Until then, I stock up on frozen waffles and shake my head and chuckle each morning as my baby eats his frozen, frozen waffles. I can’t judge, I drink diet soda for breakfast most mornings, and for snacks in high school I’d slather a slice of bread with Italian dressing and eat it up. Really great cuisine, there.

What unusual-sounding foods do your kids eat?

Comments

  1. That is a little different, but as long as they seem to like it..

    My mother teethed us on dill pickles. I still say that’s why I have a line across my forehead. The frowning from the sour dills..

Leave a Reply

