Homemade Stuffed Pizza Rolls Recipe with Pepperoni and Mozzarella

If you have kids, you know the feeling. It’s close to dinner time, the little ones are hungry, and you realize you’ve got nothing but some milk, pickles, and leftover ingredients from dinners past.

Last week, on one such night, I turned to improvisation. I thought back to the open-faced tuna melts my mom would make with hamburger buns. I had hamburger buns, but no tuna, and I don’t think my children would find tuna palatable, anyway. But I did have leftover pizza sauce, mozzarella I’d bought during a 2 for 1 sale, and pepperoni. Not to mention a garden suddenly overflowing with fresh basil.

For novelty’s sake, I decided to stuff the unsliced wheat buns with a pizza concoction and hoped for the best.

My kids declared me a culinary genius that night, but remember, they are 9, 7 and 2 (the six year old, the pickiest of the picky, didn’t like them, even though he loves all the ingredients).

So here you go, my family-pleasing and super-fast homemade pizza rolls.

(Don’t be jealous of my fancy table setting.)

Homemade Stuffed Pizza Rolls

Makes 8 Servings

8 unsliced wheat hamburger buns
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
3/4 cup pizza sauce
30 slices of pepperoni, chopped
1/4 cup onion, minced
4 large basil leaves, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Carefully hollow out the buns from one side. Save inside pieces to make bread crumbs for a future meal.

In a medium size bowl, combine the remaining ingredients. Using a small spoon, stuff the buns evenly with the pepperoni mixture.

Place the buns on a baking sheet lined with foil, and bake for 8-10 minutes. Buns will be nice and crispy.

Comments

  1. This is brilliant! I have a bag of rolls in my fridge and need to make a quick, easy dinner tonight since my oldest has softball practice. This is perfect!

  2. Looks great (and so easy)!

  3. This is a great idea! I always have leftover rolls, and get sick of making them into sandwiches. Stuffed pizza rolls sounds like the perfect solution!

Leave a Reply

