Taco Soup – Slow Cooker Recipe (Vegetarian or with Chicken)

As I sat down to write out this recipe, I wasn’t sure what to call it. My kids only eat one kind of soup, for the most part, so in this house we usually refer to it simply as, “Soup.” Because of the taco seasoning, I’m apt to call it Taco Soup when describing it to others, so I guess that’s what I’ll refer to it as here, though there’s no taco shell in sight.

This makes a huge amount. If Zachary works late and it’s just the kids and I eating dinner, I freeze the leftovers for another night down the line when I won’t want to cook. This requires a large slow cooker. I can’t seem to find my manual, but I believe it is 6 or 7 quarts, and this soup takes up almost every last bit of space in it.

I typically make this vegetarian, but the last time I made it (the time when I photographed it) I had leftover shredded chicken from making enchiladas for Cinco de Mayo, so I threw that in there. This is a huge hit with all of my kids, except Grant, but he doesn’t like most food, so it’s hard to judge a recipe by his opinion (he hates black beans).

Taco Soup

Serves a bunch of people (I’d say a good 10-12 servings; next time I make it I’ll measure)

1 large onion, chopped
6 large carrots, peeled and chopped
6 ribs of celery, chopped
4-6 cloves of garlic, minced
2 15-oz. cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 15-oz. can of no-salt diced tomatoes
1 8-oz. can no-salt tomato sauce
1-2 cups frozen corn kernels
48 oz. chicken broth or chicken stock (I used to use one 48-oz commercial size can of Swanson’s, now I use one 32 oz. carton of Kirkland’s organic chicken stock, plus 1 15 oz. can of Swanson’s low-sodium)
1 packet or serving of taco seasoning (I use Penzey’s bulk taco seasoning)
1-2 chicken breast halves, or 2 cups shredded rotisserie chicken (optional)
Tortilla chips (optional)
Shredded Colby Jack cheese (optional)

If making with chicken, add the chicken to the slow cooker first, then add the other ingredients on top. Without chicken, I found it works best to add the ingredients in the order listed.

Heat on low for 6-8 hours, then serve topped with tortilla chips and shredded cheese, if desired.

Leave a Reply

