Chocolate Ganache S’Mores Bar Recipe

I am good at meal planning, in that I map out what to make for dinners for 4-5 days in a row, take my list to the store, and, for the most part, buy just what is on my list.

Where I lack is in planning to use up all of what I buy. I make ribs in the crock pot, a recipe which calls for 1 tbsp of fresh, minced ginger, but then don’t use the leftover ginger. And the same is true for all the recipes using things like cilantro, parsley, heavy cream, buttermilk, and so on.

Wasting food is one of my biggest pet peeves ever, something which undoubtedly contributed to my inability to lose the baby weight after my kids were born. If they didn’t finish their sandwiches, I would, because I didn’t want to throw perfectly good food in the garbage.

Now I’m better about eating my food and my food alone, but I still don’t like to throw away food because it went bad before I had a chance to use it. It’s a waste of money, and a waste of resources and I even feel first-world guilt about the amount of excess food in my kitchen that ends up tossed.

So. I’m trying hard lately to use up what I’ve got on hand.

The kids recently love a chicken recipe I found that calls for crème fraîche. I have never used crème fraîche, couldn’t find it at my grocery store, and am not entirely sure what it even IS – but I used some super fancy reasoning skills to guess I could substitute heavy cream. If this is wrong, well, I’ll continue making the recipe with heavy cream, anyway, because it tastes good that way.

Anyway, after my chicken dinner I had leftover heavy cream and no clue what to do with it. Pulled up my trusted favorite, allrecipes.com, and used their ingredient search feature and typed in “heavy cream” and “chocolate chips,” since I also had some of those lying around.

Stumbled upon a recipe called Chocolate Ganache S’Mores and knew my kids would love it. I just linked to the original, but I am posting my slightly altered version below.

This is an exceptionally rich dessert. The website stated it makes 12 servings but I divided it into 24. There is a lot of sugar here! Even Isla stated, “I think this has enough sugar to last me all week!” I particularly like the flavor of the crust, and am trying to think of other ways I could use it.

Chocolate Ganache S’Mores


Serves 24

14 whole graham crackers, finely crushed
9 tbsp butter, melted
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
9 oz. mini chocolate chips
1 cup heavy cream
Package of mini marshmallows.

Preheat over to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 baking dish.

Mix together graham cracker, butter, sugar and cinnamon, then press into the bottom of the baking dish. Bake for 5 minutes at 350 degrees.

Measure out chocolate chips and put them in a heat-safe medium sized bow. Stirring constantly so a skin doesn’t develop, heat the cream over medium heat until boiling. Remove from heat and pour over chocolate chips. Mix with a fork or whisk until chocolate chips have completely melted, then pour the ganache over the graham cracker crust.

Preheat over to LOW broiler setting.

Before the ganache sets, add enough mini marshmallows to the top to create an even layer. Place baking dish in over, about 6 inches below the heating element, and broil for 30-45 seconds. Watch it closely! Once the marshmallows begin to puff up a little and get lightly brown, it’s time to take them out. They can go from untoasted to burnt in a matter of seconds.

Remove baking dish from oven and refrigerate for about an hour before cutting, or overnight. Grease or spray your cutting utensil with cooking spray before cutting.

(Note: This is my first time trying to put the “Pin It” button in – if someone wants to let me know whether it works or not, that would be great!)

Comments

  1. That looks really incredibly delicious!

Leave a Reply

