Homemade Granola Bar Recipe

I’m the mean mom who doesn’t buy a lot of prepackaged snacks. Want fruit snacks? Here, have some raisins. Those are the ultimate fruit snacks, kids. Granola bars are also treats I rarely purchase. So when I came across a recipe to make them at home I was excited to try it out. I copied and pasted it into a Word document and it sat on my computer’s hard drive for who knows how long.

I’m happy to report my kids loved these, and I’m proud to say I didn’t make any mistakes making them, though I did modify the recipe from the original in a few places. They were a little too chocolatey for my taste (and I LOVE chocolate) so next time I think I’ll reduce the amount of chocolate chips by half and use mini morsels instead, but otherwise they were a great consistency and my kids thought they were an acceptable enough replacement for the grocery store granola bars.

Homemade Granola Bars

24 servings

1 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/4 cup sugar
2 tbsp honey
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups rice cereal (like Rice Krispies)
1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate morsels
1 1/2 cups dry oatmeal (I used Quaker Quick Oats)
1/3 cup dried cranberries (I used Craisins) or raisins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×13 pan.

Combine sugars and softened butter in a large bowl and beat with a mixer until well combined and airy. Add honey, vanilla and egg and mix well. Set aside.

Get a separate bowl and mix together flours, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. Add 1/3 of flour mixture to sugar mixture and beat until incorporated. Then add next third, beat together, and then add final third and combine well.

Using a spoon, mix in oatmeal. Then add in rice cereal, and stir. Next add the chocolate morsels, combine, and then add the Craisins or raisins and stir again.

Using your hands or the back of a spoon, gently press the mixture into the greased pan. Bake at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes. The top of the bars will brown a little.

Cool, cut and serve!

As prepared above, and cut into 24 bars, these had about 171 calories each and 6 grams of fat.

Comments

  1. Definitely going to try this one! Nice that it doesn’t have nuts, so the kids will be able to take it to school.

  2. Yummy – these must make truly great lunch time snacks. I need one of these for work tomorrow :D.

    • Yes, they were good! When I make them next I will use less sugar and/or chocolate chips so I don’t feel as bad sending the kids to school with them (they seemed a little too dessert-like).

  3. Yum – totally trying this!

  4. Yummy! I definitely need some of this for my tea time snack!

  5. Syd & I made these a few weeks ago — total yum! Since nuts are not a problem for us I added about 1/2 cup of chopped peanuts. Makes me wonder why I ever bought store boxed granola bars in the first place…

Leave a Reply

