A New Angel in Heaven – When a Baby is Born Still

Our family has been consumed by grief this week. The unthinkable happened – we were expecting my brother’s baby to be born in the next six weeks, but instead we will be attending her memorial service this weekend. A little girl, born still. She was beautiful, and my heart breaks for my brother, his wife, their children and our whole family.

I don’t even know what to write about it, but I was looking for poems today and found this.

The world may never notice
If a snowdrop doesn’t bloom,
Or even pause to wonder
If the petals fall too soon.
But every life that ever forms,
Or ever comes to be,
Touches the world in some small way
For all eternity.

The little one we long for
Was swiftly here and gone.
But the love that was then planted
Is a light that still shines on.
And though our arms are empty,
Our hearts know what to do.
Every beating of our hearts
Says that we do love you.

 

 

stats for wordpress
Comments

  1. Your family will be in our prayers.

  2. How devastating. I am so sorry for your family. Sending healing thoughts through this painful time.

  3. My firstborn was born still. It is an undescribable pain. Even though you are suffering as well, you can be a great support to your brother and his wife. I pray you may all feel God’s comfort at this time.

  4. What was her name? Something that will most likely mean a lot to them is if you remember them on her birthdays in the future. This is a pain that will forever be a part of them. I am sure you, too. You are not forgotten in prayer.

    • A friend of mine lost her first child to stillbirth and has been a great support to me. She also said it means a lot to her when people remember her first son. I’ve already noted my niece’s birthday on our calendar and we will plant a tree for her, as well. Thank you for your thoughts.

  5. I am so very sorry for your family’s loss. These tragedies happen all too frequently and yet they are hardly known about. Please know that your family will be uplifted by so many families that have walked down this path before you…..

  6. There are no words. So devastating. I’m sorry.

Trackbacks

  1. […] which are more difficult to announce, and you wonder how – and even if – to do it. My brother and his wife lost their baby girl. Zachary and I are divorcing. These were the tough […]

Leave a Reply

