Banana Bread Recipe – With or Without Chocolate Chips

I reached a very important milestone the other day. I discovered I was almost out of baking powder. Since I rarely bake, this is a big deal – in the past the only time I’ve had to throw away a baking powder canister is after realizing it had been open for two years without me using any at all. Then I’d go buy another one, use 3 teaspoons, and let it sit in my cupboard for another year or three.

A favorite recipe is for banana bread. It’s fast, easy, hard to mess up, and my kids like it. This is slightly adapted from the recipe my mom used when I was growing up, and for fun I added some chocolate chips this time, because they were there. In the cupboard with the baking powder.

Banana Bread with Chocolate Chips
Banana Bread (with Optional Chocolate Chips)

16 servings

2 1/2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
3 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
3 tbsp vegetable oil
3/4 cup milk
1 egg, beaten
1 heaping cup of mashed ripe banana (2-3 bananas)
2 big spoonfuls of unsweetened apple sauce (about 1/4 cup)
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat over to 350 degrees

Grease and flour on 9×5 loaf pan. Measure dry ingredients into large bowl and combine. Then add remaining ingredients and mix until incorporated (if using a hand mixer, don’t overmix; just go for about 30 seconds at half speed). Pour mixture into pan. Bake for 55-65 minutes.

Notes: I found 60 minutes is good for the version without chocolate chips, 65 minutes with. Also, I used regular size chocolate chips this time because it’s all I had, but next time I think I’ll use mini ones.

Calories with chocolate chips: about 250
Calories without chocolate chips: about 160

stats for wordpress
Comments

  1. Have you ever tried adding sour cream? It makes it super moist especially if you only have 2 bananas. I think it is cool that you can use more in your recipe though, because more= better!

  2. Oh my goodness–so true about Pinterest (and also blogs) making me want to bake more. I finally had to stop looking at Pinterest so much because it seriously made me hungry and I’m trying to lose the baby weight!

    That banana break looks delis. Nice picture! And thanks so much for the comments on my blog by the way. So glad to start getting to know you.

Leave a Reply

