Fall Snack Idea – Apple Rice Cereal Crispy Treats

As I’ve explained before, I’m not much of a baker. Pinterest makes me WANT to make all of the fabulously inventive crafts and goodies, but for the most part I don’t have time to spend in the kitchen or at the table on projects. But I saw the cutest idea on Pinterest and it looked easy enough, so I thought I’d give it a try.

In the original recipe I saw, the apples were decorated with Tootsie Roll stems and royal icing leaves that had been meticulously piped and then attached with skill. I do not have that kind of skill, so I just used what I had at home for the stems – pretzel sticks broken in half.

The red color is thanks to a box of powdered gelatin, which also gave the treats a fun flavor. The kids were mildly disappointed their APPLE treats tasted like CHERRY, however.

These were very easy! Remember, if I can do it, you definitely can! I made them with Grant after he got home from his first day of kindergarten, so I meant for them to be a first day of school snack, but I think they’d be really cute at a fall party, or even made as pumpkins for a Halloween party! I think I will do that next month.

Apple Rice Crispy Cereal Treats

6 cups of crispy rice cereal
1 package (10 oz) marshmallows
3 tablespoons butter
1 small small package Jell-o powder, cherry or strawberry flavor
Pretzel sticks
Baking spray or shortening
Wax paper
Red food coloring, optional
Green fruit roll ups or flattened gum drops for leaves, optional

Put marshmallows and butter in a medium saucepan and heat over medium-low heat. Stir constantly until marshmallows are melted and can be mixed together with the butter. (I find this method much easier than using the microwave – when I use the microwave I have a much shorter time frame before the mixture starts to harden, and I found the treats themselves weren’t as soft.

Pour marshmallow and butter mixture into a large mixing bowl. Add powdered gelatin and mix thoroughly and quickly with a greased spoon. Add rice cereal and stir together until well mixed.

Spray your hands with baking spray or rub a little shortening on them, then, working quickly, form the cereal mixture into small balls, making an indentation at the top of each with your finger for the stem. Once you are done shaping them, add the pretzel stick stems (I broke them in half).

stats for wordpress
Leave a Reply

