Easy Jewelry Shadow Box with Pretty Fabric – Home Organization

Yes, yes, it’s been ages since I posted. I am horrible at noting the passage of time – what feels like just thirty minutes will turn out to be an hour and a half, and what feels like just two weeks is, apparently, really more like two months.

I’m not a huge jewelry wearer, but I’ve accumulated a decent sized collection of adorable necklaces and a few bracelets. One of my earlobes refuses to stay pierced, so earrings are at a minimum until I figure out how to re-pierce it in the same place again.

Previously I’d strewn my necklaces all over my dresser, which wasn’t the best organizational method. I’m pretty sure I didn’t make this idea up, but I also can’t remember where I saw it – but I liked the thought of being able to easily see all of my necklaces and access them without having to untangle a knot of chains each time I wanted to wear one.

So I found a nice and relatively inexpensive shadowbox at Michael’s. The fabric that came with it was dull, so I headed to my favorite local fabric store and chose a much cuter pattern.

There were no scientific measurements here – I laid the fabric over the backing (foam) and cut it about 1/2″ around the edge of the backing., then affixed it with straight pins. Then I used quilting pins (which were thicker and also had the cute little yellow ends) to arrange the jewelry in the shadow box.

So now I have a pretty way to display my necklaces, plus my dresser is clear.

Oh, who am I kidding? The necklaces just made way for more clutter on the dresser. But at least the jewelry is safer!

stats for wordpress
Comments

  1. I’m totally doing this! Mine take up half of a drawer that could better be used for something else. Our dresser is too tall to put them on top (Yes they still make dressers *that* tall for which I’m thankful given our tiny *ss house). The sad neglected wall space in our bedroom will be perfect placement for one (or two) of these!

Leave a Reply

