Recipe – Vegetarian Korma

Man, I’ve barely begun blogging and I’m already finding it hard to keep up. I go to bed each night thinking of topics I could write about, then the next day comes and I am busy with kids, laundry, work, cooking, everything else, and they come first.

One activity I don’t always have time for is trying new recipes. When it’s 6:00 and Zachary isn’t home yet and I’ve got four hungry kids staring me down, there’s nothing sweeter than the words, “frozen pizza.”

However, the kids need less processed foods, and that I need to show them that cooking can be fun and fast. I try letting them choose their own recipes from my magazines and help with the grocery shopping. They will almost always eat food if they got to choose the recipe!

This is a recipe adapted from one I found on allrecipes.com. I love allrecipes.com because you can search by a lot of different criteria. When I need to find something new to make I will put in a few terms and then search by ranking so I can find some recipes that have already been deemed good, at least by a bunch of strangers.

Vegetarian Korma
Serves 4

1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 small onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 potatoes, cubed
4 carrots, cubed
2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tbsp curry powder
1 cup frozen green peas
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 can low-fat coconut milk, divided
1/2 cup raisins
cilantro

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in the onion and cook until tender. Mix in ginger and garlic, and continue cooking 1 minute. Mix potatoes, carrots, raisins and 1/4 cup coconut milk. Season with salt and curry powder. Cook and stir 10 minutes, or until potatoes are tender.

Stir peas, bell pepper and remaining coconut milk into the skillet. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer 10 minutes. Garnish with cilantro to serve.

Review: I originally did not add the coconut milk until after I’d cooked the potatoes and carrots, and they did not get soft enough, so next time I will prepare as written above. I loved the flavor, but I also love Indian food and curry. Zachary liked it just fine, the baby gobbled it up, and the kids were suspicious. One kid ate the carrots, potatoes and peas and that was it.

Comments

  1. This recipe looks really good, I’ll have to give it a try. The only item I don’t have at the moment is coconut milk, so I’ll have to make this another night. (you don’t sound like the meanest mother to me)

  2. I love allrecipes too, but somehow, I still manage to make the same 4 things each week. Ugh!!! I have a friend who religiously tries something new twice a week. Here’s to hoping!!!!

Leave a Reply

