Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches (Slow-Cooker or Stove-Top) Recipe

Yesterday I shared with you the spectacular disaster that was my first attempt at whole wheat pita bread, but today I share a recipe that makes me look like a better cook. Baking may confound me, but I like to think I’m good at cooking meals and appetizers.

I’ve been making this pulled barbecue chicken recipe for a few years now, using the stove top version. This week, however, I tweaked the measurements for the slow-cooker. Our evenings are becoming busier and busier, with the kids’ activities and my trips to the gym, so my slow-cooker is what saves us from hitting the fast food drive through many nights.

Both methods are pretty fool-proof and easy, and this is one of those miraculous recipes that all four kids enjoy. If you try it, let me know what you think!

Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches – Stove Top Version

Serves 6-8

1 to 1 1/2 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 onion, chopped
4-6 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups barbecue sauce (the thicker the better – I use Sweet Baby Ray’s)
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
Hot pepper sauce, like Cholula
Salt
Pepper
Shredded Colby Jack cheese
Pickles
Whole wheat buns

Season chicken with salt and pepper, and place in a small pot or medium saucepan. Add onion, garlic, barbecue sauce, vinegar and a few dashes of hot pepper sauce. If the mixture does not completely cover chicken, add up to 1 cup of water.

Heat chicken over medium-high heat until boiling. Boil for fifteen minutes, then remove chicken and shred. Add shredded chicken back to pot and mix thoroughly. Serve barbecue chicken on buns topped with shredded cheese and pickles.

 

Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches – Slow-Cooker Version

Serves 6-8

1 to 1 1/2 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 onion, chopped
4-6 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup barbecue sauce (the thicker the better – I use Sweet Baby Ray’s)
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
Hot pepper sauce, like Cholula
Salt
Pepper
Shredded Colby Jack cheese
Pickles
Whole wheat buns

Add barbecue sauce, vinegar, a few dashes of hot pepper sauce and garlic to a slow cooker. Stir to combine. Season chicken with salt and pepper, and place into slow-cooker, topping with the chopped onion. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Shred chicken with fork and return to slow-cooker and mix with barbecue sauce mixture.

Serve barbecue chicken on buns topped with shredded cheese and pickles.

Comments

  1. Wow! This is making me very hungry. ;-)

  2. I just made this for dinner this evening and it was delicious! Did the stove top recipe because I don’t have a crock-pot at the moment. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

